Friday, March 27, 2009

sometimes, I even get on my own nerves

Today I'm actually trying to decide if I'm irritated or glad. I guess I can be both, right?

I have this son (I have four, but whatever) who had this girlfriend. Now mind you, I have mixed feelings about girls since my boy children started to get old enough to notice them. I feel like Bobby Boucher's momma in "Waterboy" "Girls are De DEBIL!!!!" (yes I tell my boys that...women are evil, conniving, manipulative creatures...girls have cooties....stay at least 20 feet away from all things female) And I dream that one day, when I'm ready, I will have beautiful, smart, awesome daughters in-law...but I really know that it will never happen.
But for the time being....I don't want to even think about daughters-in-law ....mostly because that kind of thinking eventually leads to *shudder* me being a grandmother.

Pause for a moment for me to explain that I have forbidden anyone in my house from contemplating reproduction until I am much, much older than I am right now....as a matter of fact, I have set a year for this...and nobody that sprang from my loins better deviate from this plan. (shaddup, don't tell me I'm foolish, let me live in my deluded bubble, it's nice here)

So, back to the tapdance at hand.....right about Christmas time...my son and this girl*sneer* parted ways. He's in school, they're hours apart, the relationship wasn't really going anywhere....it seemed the best and it seemed like an amicable parting. They even went to a dance together at the beginning of this month. Still friends, which is a good thing. (of course there's extra drama in all of this that I wont go in to any detail about, let's just leave it with I breathed several sighs of relief.)
And now that I've written that out into tangible words, I can see that today's news is indeed good. Ex-Girl got married this week. To someone else's son. 3 months after ending a 3 year relationship. To a kid who looks enough like my kid to be his brother. To a musician.

20 bucks says she's preggers.

See my problem? Why am I so nasty about this? Why can't I just be glad my kid dodged this bullet, and move along?

No comments:

Post a Comment